Time Alone – Edwardes, Smith, Devenish

5pm Sunday 24 May
Callaway Auditorium
University of Western Australia
$30/$25 Book Online

Claire Edwardes – Percussion
Ashley Smith – Clarinets
Louise Devenish – Percussion

Magnus Lindberg – Ablauf 2 bass drums and clarinet
Nico Muhly – It Goes Without Saying  clarinet and electronics
Chris Tonkin – IN bass drum solo with live electronics
Damien Ricketson – Time Alone vibraphone solo with live electronics
Michael Smetanin – Finger Funk marimba duo
Gyorgy Ligeti – Continuum marimba and vibraphone

This program pits some of the bigger compositional names of the 20th and 21st century in Gyorgy Ligeti, Magnus Lindberg and next generation American composer Nico Muhly against Australian masters of our time, Perth based Christopher Tonkin and Sydney-siders Michael Smetanin and Damien Ricketson. Mirroring the Sydney-Perth compositional input, the performers also come together from across the continent – Sydney percussion sensation Claire Edwardes and local stars Ashley Smith and Louise Devenish. What ensues must be experienced live and in the moment – squeeling clarinet paired with fortissimo concert bass drum blows (Lindberg); the intimate tones of fingers dancing on a single marimba (Smetanin); electronica organically growing out of chime-like vibraphone peels (Ricketson) and a continuum cloud of luscious sound (Ligeti)

Presented in association with the School of Music, University of Western Australia